Doug TenNapel – Final Ink Detail

December 31, 2012

This is the final post in a three part series on how I ink a two page spread comic page. Make sure you’re familiar with the post on penciling pages…

http://tennapel.wordpress.com/2012/12/08/doug-tennapel-penciling/

…and spotting blacks…

http://tennapel.wordpress.com/2012/12/15/doug-tennapel-spotting-blacks/

Now that I’ve got the pages penciled and have spotted the blacks, it’s time to make the final ink details. It’s important to make sure the foundations of an artwork are right before going on to detail. As I critique a lot of portfolios of up-and-comers the most common mistake I see is a poor foundation. That is, and artwork isn’t likely to gain strength if the foundations are weak. A bad start will limit the greatness of a final work. I observe this problem across almost all disciplines including writing, music, sculpture and even marriage! No amount of detail and finesse can completely cover a bad start. As an impatient artist, I’m tempted to go straight to detail because I want the thing to start looking good right away. Experience has taught me to avoid going to finish right away.

Here’s a look at my final inking tool; the Winsor Newton Series 7 brush (size 3):

IMG_2344

You don’t have to use this brush, or this size. Some people do great work with tech pens, and I’ve even done final inks using a twig! What I like about committing to a reliable tool is that I can get to know its weak points and strengths then get on with the task at hand. Having experience with an imperfect tool will often get better results in the short term than superior tools with less experience. I’m always trying to get better and better tools, but it comes time to do the work, I use what I’m familiar with over something “better” I’m not entirely trained to exploit.I like to ink detail in one of two ways, from the upper left hand of the page down to the lower right, or I start at the most important part of the illustration: the focal point, and work my way out to the less important parts of the page. Starting with the focal point means my best and frostiest attention is given to the first thing, then when I’m fatigued by the end of a drawing session, I can slop in less important material.Treat the brush like a pen, and treat a pen like a brush is an old artist’s saying. When I’m inking with a brush, I’m using it like a dramatic pencil:

IMG_2345

Detail: (http://tennapel.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/img_2345.jpg)
Notice that I’m not trying to give everything the same amount of detail. Nature doesn’t present everything to the natural eye with identical weight, and our perception isn’t trained to look at everything the same way. As an artist, I want the picture to look natural since I’m trying to convey reality to the viewer. That means I’m not just expressing whatever I want from inside my head, I need to address my audience and consider their perception of the work. This is particularly true of mass media works, the bigger the mass that I want to read it (everyone) the more I have to hold that masses hand through the reading of the work. When I’m doing pencil doodles in my personal sketchbook, I don’t consider an audience other than myself. That will necessarily produce different content and presentation.

Below shows how well those spotted blacks hold up against the new detail. Oh, I almost forgot! Just as you spot in chunks of blacks to hold the page down, we also have to preserve large chunks of whitespace for contrast. I  learned that from doing watercolor painting, because once you paint over white in that medium, you’re never going to get it back. So we “preserve the white pace” in inking because putting black marks on a paper is generally a one way trip. You can always add more blacks to white, but it’s hard to pull them back out if you over detail something.

IMG_2346

Detail: (http://tennapel.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/img_2346.jpg)
This page is getting close to done. I’ve worked from the upper right focal point to the left, where I’m at the end of my drawing session and I can easily blow in some detail and be done with it. If you squint your eye, there should still be a good amount of blacks and whites to create an interesting, solid, cluster of shapes to hold the page down. Then upon closer look at the page, the details emerge and a story is constructed in your mind.

Once again, we can ink details with confidence if the foundation of the pages are done right. If I find something wrong with the page at this point, I can usually trace it back to a weakness in the pencils, or thumbnail composition, and it’s rarely due to the final inking phase. The final inks reveal strengths and weaknesses that were there all along at the start.

IMG_2347

Detail: (http://tennapel.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/img_2347.jpg)
Once the page is done, I can go in and do some tidy up with white out or further blacking in sections that can handle it. Then I erase the pencils, and it looks like I just threw down a well structured, gestural landscape. But now you’re in on the secret… even the apparent spontaneity of final inking detail was completely reverse engineered from the start.

4 Responses to “Doug TenNapel – Final Ink Detail”

  1. Og Says:

    Pure gold! Thank you for sharing your process. Very educational.

  2. Elliot Says:

    thank you for sharing this information, its is outstandingly informative and useful for myself and I am sure many others! It is very kind of you to go out of your way to do this to help other artists.

  3. tennapel Says:

    Thank you, Elliot. When I see a decent piece of art my first thought as an artist is, “How did they do that?!” Then I get frustrated and depressed when I find no help on the entire internet.

    I don’t want to spoil how the magic is made for my average reader. If they don’t intend to make their own work, they can pass over these secrets and will probably find the reading of the books more enjoyable. I always try to watch a move 2 or 3 times before I look at the bonus features on the DVD!

  4. Peggy H. Says:

    Absolutely fascinating!! Doesn’t spoil it at all for the average reader, since many of us can barely draw a stick figure! But very interesting to get some insight into your process, which clearly takes tons of discipline. I am so excited about the big book! Peggy, Queen of the Earth


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

