My Church Endorses Slavery

February 8, 2008

We have a lot of blacks in our church. I’d say that we also had a lot of white people but I assume it’s implied since we’re talking about a church.

Anyways, our paster gave a sermon and read this scripture:

Romans 6:22 “But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves to God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life.”

When he read “and have become slaves to God” the black couple in front of me said, “Amen!” As a white with almost no slavery in my history the word “slave” will never mean to me what it might mean to some American blacks. But I thought the black couple had balls to Amen that scripture. For the unchurched you might need a translation. When someone says, “Amen” they’re really saying, “Yes!” Like if a friend of mine says the band RUSH sucks I say, “Amen”.

2 Responses to “My Church Endorses Slavery”

  1. Maxwell Morgan Says:

    Wait, we’re slaves to GOD?!?
    Quick, get Jesse Jackson and we’ll start an underground-ethereal railroad! We’ll sneak the slaves outta heaven and into hell! Oh wait…


  2. If God showed up at church…..do you think people would be surprised and even irritated….like….”What are YOU doing here?”


Leave a Reply

