Earthworm Jim Option

April 23, 2008

Yeah, you know it’s bad when you have to pay for the option of your own character. There’s something unnatural about that, like taking a crap backwards. But here’s the news:

Press Release.

“Interplay Entertainment Corp. announced today that the company signed a partnership arrangement with Earthworm Jim creator Douglas TenNapel to relaunch the videogame icon.

TenNapel will serve as a creative consultant on Earthworm Jim 4, and will simultaneously develop an animated series and feature film to expand the well known brand.”

Tell your friends. Jim. Is. Back.

19 Responses to “Earthworm Jim Option”

  1. lemm Says:

    Already have, Doug.

    It’s a really great time for you at the moment with Monster Zoo and what-not. I’m very happy for you! :)

  2. Sam Says:

    This. Is. AWESOME.

  3. Neil Says:

    To think that they’d want to have you as a creative consultant is beyond the scope of what I’d normally give credit to a developer like the once-defunct Interplay. Kudos.

  4. David Says:

    O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!”
    He chortled in his joy

    Any chance of another Neverhood? :)

  5. alterna180 Says:

    congrats, doug. can’t wait to see it!

  6. person man Says:

    Glad to see Jim is returning. I have so many fond memories of both the cartoon/video game series from my childhood. Ditto on the Neverhood comment too.

  7. legendaryjman Says:

    whoa, you had to pay them? I’d be interested to hear more about that.

  8. P.C. Unfunny Says:

    Hey Doug ! I am so glad to see Jim is back on track. I must know though, how did you and interplay go through all the red tape ? I know EWJ was dead because the rights were all tied up.

  9. tennapel Says:

    P.C. Unfunny, you got that right. The problem with EWJ was that the rights were buried/spread all over the place. The rights stopped being tied up when due to lack of activity, the character reverted back to Interplay. It’s a long story.

  10. greg b Says:

    YAY! I mean, yay? Maybe,”Whoa.” Yup, that feels right.

    Jim is a super iconic an memorable character. Everyone (me) was heart broken to see his charter go down the path it did, so to hear him being revisited with the original perspectives (You), frickin’ great.

  11. P.C. Unfunny Says:

    Ahh, I see Doug. Anyway, I can’t wait to see what direction you are going to go. You must be so proud to get your own creation back in your hands after all these years.

  12. Patrick Says:

    Man this is rad. I love your books, and to see you get EWJ back is rockin. Are you goin to have new prints of him this year at San Diego.

  13. Jason Says:

    Congratulations, Doug.


  14. good to hear, and thanks Doug.
    its nice to hear a good original videogame

    is coming back, after the years of nearly playing
    everything, we have been needing Jim Back, in all forms.

    take care Doug.

    – Christopher


  15. Hey! What’s going on? Is the game actually moving forward? I REALLY, REALLY hope so….

    And yes….I think it’s beyond ridiculous that you don’t have full control over your character with or without permission from some company or other. Artists get taken advantage of at every opportunity. Non artists don’t know what it’s like to have “your baby” stolen from you and then handed back to you after you’ve paid for what you already own.

    I am desperate to ride a guinea pig and shoot a bubble gun that I thought was a barn blaster while listening to Evil the Cat laugh at my futility. I need this. Badly. :) Good luck Mr. TenNipples! You should consider surgery, maybe. If you have time…don’t let it effect your work, though!

  16. Kike Says:

    This worm is a superstar for me.
    I passed all the previous games and i was waiting years to play a new one. I only don´t like the ending of the first one (the princess What´s-her-name is a lovely character that don´t deserve such violence). And i never liked too much the tv series because i always think that they don´t get the characters right.
    When i was a kid, i used to create my own EWJ comics and i used to design my own EWJ videogames… I can´t wait for more JIM adventures!!

  17. Rudy Says:

    what happened? Its been almost 5 years and nothing :(

    • tennapel Says:

      Well, Earthworm Jim is not dead… it’s just not under TenNapel control. I’m always working on new projects, and it’s usually easier to make something new than to try to get the rights back to my older properties. Still, you never know!

      • Rudy Says:

        Interesting I suppose, but I wish you would have control or some big involvement in whatever is happening behind closed doors.


Leave a Reply

