Who Made God?

June 19, 2008

Tonight I said prayers with my six year old daughter and she asked an age appropriate question, “God created everything, but who created God?” I thought it was cute, because she wasn’t Richard Dawkins. A six year old girl should be asking these questions not a sixty year old man.

I told her that only things that need a beginning have to have a maker. God didn’t have a beginning, so he didn’t need a maker. She replied, “But who made God?” which is pretty much how Dawkins responds.

I thought we’d go about this another way, I suggested that God had a father, so who made him? My daughter squinted and thought really hard, “The stars made God’s father?” That actually sounded a lot like Dawkins too so it was getting a little scary. If she started saying that the Christian church was the greatest form of evil in the history of the Earth I’d start looking under her bed for my copy of The God Delusion.

I told her that these were good questions and the God probably liked her to think about such things. She will either make a fine Christian or a robust atheist, either of which I would welcome over somebody who just didn’t care enough to believe either way.

My favorite thing to think about is God. I don’t like to create my own image of Him in my mind, because I’m skeptical above all else what kind of God I would create. I learned this great way to address God from C.S. Lewis; “not as I think You are but as You know Yourself to be.” There are a lot of things about God I find hard to understand, these aspects of God are actually the easiest to believe exactly because I wouldn’t create that kind of God, so they pass the self-delusion test.

11 Responses to “Who Made God?”

  1. AwwwBucketHead Says:

    “A six year old girl should be asking these questions not a sixty year old man.” It’s never to old to seek knowledge. I realize Dawkins is trying to make a point, but just saying.

  2. tennapel Says:

    People who ask that question aren’t seeking knowledge. They’ve already made a god in their own image that must be made to even ask the question. One might as well ask, “Who made the unmade Maker?” which is like asking, “Who made the square circle?”

  3. giraffemilkshake Says:

    so, you’d rather have your daughter have confidence in a belief that will (according to christianity. at least the current iteration of it) send her to hell than be weak in a belief that’s the ticket to heaven? i’m curious about that.

  4. tennapel Says:

    Lukewarm belief is in a category below the non-believer in the Bible. The obvious ideal isn’t to be an atheist, it’s to apply reason and get the correct answer to well thought questions.

  5. ErikN Says:

    I love how it’s almost… well, it IS completely impossible to imagine Him without a beginning… but that’s pretty cool, how unfathomable it is. Beyond our capacity!

  6. Tomes Says:

    WE exist in a linear fashion, and think thus. God is, has been, and always will be, something we cannot comprehend. There is no point A and point B to God I think it’s safe to assume, just the Point.

    Someday we’ll be smart enough to figure it out though.

  7. giraffemilkshake Says:

    so, does God then say, “well, you didn’t believe Jesus, but at least you believed with every fiber of your being. get in here you crazy kid,” or do you still go to hell? because it would seem that a strongly held belief, no matter how ingenious the argument, or tough the conviction would still be just as useful (useless) as no belief at all, or believing something that feels good or sounds nice as opposed to something you feel convicted on and convinced of.

  8. tennapel Says:

    I don’t know what God will say on judgment day. No idea.

    But the Bible considers a “double-minded man” as one who hears the word then walks off and does something different. That mouthing the words of belief are just mouthing words, not actual justified true belief.

    This goes back to my children because I’m not raising them with a cute fairy-tail belief in God that amounts to well wishes and good intentions. I want to communicate that God is the Author of everything.

    The reason why I find so much common ground with atheists is that they at least take a stand on something. I consider atheists honest agnostics. They’re willing to take a stand and claim something besides a gray malaise. Atheists are fellow absolutists. I like that, and a knowledge claim is a rare thing these days.

  9. crawford Says:

    Speaking of taking a stand…I really like when Dawkins has to pull back to the idea of a “multiverse”. A figurative bowl of tapioca in which each little bubble is a universe. Somehow it makes life more mathematically probable. And it’s only a couple chapters after he lambastes Christians for believing in things they can’t prove! Funnn.

  10. kvfitz Says:

    Dear Mr. T:

    Just wanted to let you know,

    we got a new kitten. He is scrappy and has black stripes and his paws are too big for the rest of him. Also, he goes sproing.

    His name is Jacobus.

    Thanks,

    Kate, Rand (and Jake)

  11. Dave Gregovich Says:

    Thanks for the interesting blog,
    I submit that there might also be whole-hearted (not ‘luke-warm’) agnostics. I think that some sort of belief might be unavoidable to the human mind. But I don’t agree that having a belief constitutes an arrival at absolute truth. Regarding myself, it seems I am looking for truth, but have not arrived there yet, so I am still an agnostic.

    And this might not be a bad thing.


Leave a Reply

