Marathon Journal: 4 Miles

January 8, 2010

I’ve still got some lung-junk I’m dealing with but I pulled off four miles tonight. It took me just over 42 minutes which is a really good pace for me. I like jogging either early in the morning or late at night under cover of darkness because I’m a little self conscious of how I look while exercising.

Tonight’s shuffle selections were designed to keep me upbeat: Black-Eyed Peas, Girl Talk, Zeppelin, Everclear, a little O Brother Where Art Thou and I listened to some Christian apologetics podcasts (Apologetics.com).

I lectured last night at the Hollywood Congress of Republicans which trashed my voice a bit. A buddy of mine scored me a Cuban cigar which didn’t help my lung situation. Then I lectured today at the Art Institute of California and bummed two cigarettes off a student. I haven’t smoked in 3 weeks and it’s a really dumb thing to do before a run. It’s probably a dumb thing to do period, but that’s another post for another day.

3 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 4 Miles”

  1. Kevin Says:

    When I first started running, the lung junk took about two weeks to go away but once it did I felt even better after a run. Good luck on your training!


  2. It’s really cool that you’re posting about your jogging adventures. I think that if more people committed to writing about their exercise habits, they’d stick to ’em better.

  3. Lynn Says:

    Don’t understand the appeal of smoking cigarettes since I never quite acquired the nicotine addiction but I did watch my father-in-law die a brutal long slow death from emphysema so I understandably flinch when I read about you smoking even though your lungs are full of gunk… eeep. Really fun to meet you; thanks for finding my name tag and retrieving it from my hair (!!!).


Leave a Reply

