Marathon Journal: 4 miles

January 13, 2010

Did a small run just to get back on my feet. I still feel a little sick. Running with a lung infection just puts a drag on everything, but why give up the cold now? It’s like an old friend. Come on in, the lungs are fine! Have a seat on the papa-san chair, can I get you a beer? What do you mean you brought your six children and they’re moving upstairs to the sinus cavity? Look, I don’t mind if you need a couch to crash on for a couple of weeks, but this is MY place. Show a little respect.

It was drizzling out during my run, which I don’t mind at all. I’d rather is be cold and wet than warm and dry. I like the familiar faces I see when I run in the mornings, the 85 year old lady who walks ten miles a day. There’s the Armenian man who didn’t talk to me for three years and now always gives me a generous, “Good morning!”

And what would my life be without another skin cancer surgery? Yeah, that’s right, I’m going back under the knife today. I’ve had 10 operations behind my right ear, and now that the skin cancer appears to be cleared up in that area some of it appeared in front of my right ear in the side-burns area. The doctor is baffled at the amount of skin cancer I’ve had for my young age. He thinks I had arsenic poisoning as a kid, which is a long story for another post.

I like to look at the bright side of surgery, it will be like getting a free face-lift. So the right side of my face will look like Joan Rivers and the left will look like a 6’8″ old man. I’ll bring my laptop and a sketchbook along to get some writing done on my next graphic novel.

I don’t know how skin they’re gonna take off, I’m guessing it will be a small area, but it better not be so big as to jack up my four mile run on Friday. I can’t afford to miss any more training if I’m going to run the LA Marathon with the Beloved Mrs. TenNapel. As usual, keep me in your prayers.

7 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 4 miles”


  1. ARSENIC POISONING? What the—?

  2. scrabbit Says:

    and there you are… in my prayers.
    Good luck Doug!

  3. DeeDee Says:

    miss u on facebook….today needed ur thoughts on haiti and robertson…where can i read/follow ur thoughts on religion and politics now? (sorry to post here)

  4. Bob McGowan Says:

    We’ll be praying for you over here.

  5. chris Says:

    In my prayers doug!

  6. Frank Turk Says:

    I’ll be praying, but while they have you under the knife they should even you out. It’s a little cruel to make the nip/tuck on one side and leave the other saggy.

  7. Syz Says:

    Be thankful they’re only removing the tissue rather than chemo-ing you up. Chemo is just… blearg! We’ll all pray for you!


Leave a Reply

