Marathon Journal: 4 miles

January 23, 2010

This is my first run since the big 14 mile catch-up I did in the storms of Glendale last week. My knees are really sore, and this is was jacked up my marathon from last year so I’m extra-troubled by it. I’m trying to train while not training. See? I guess that makes me a PostModern jogger.

Gotta do 7 miles on Monday and 16 next weekend. I’m not sure how I’m going to accomplish those, but we’re going to need every ounce of my own obsession, the eye of the tiger, my Beloved’s encouragement and every prayer I can muster to pull this off. Is there a reason to be scared? Not really. This is what the whole adventure is about. It wouldn’t be a challenge, or much fun if there wasn’t a constant risk of it all falling apart. And I flat out don’t want to fall into the trap of just being proud as if it’s all up to me-me-me and therefore all about me-me-me. One should keep their head in the midst of their accomplishments.

I listened to David Allen White’s (Hugh Hewitt show) lectures on Charles Dickens during today’s jog.

3 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 4 miles”

  1. Chris Says:

    Keep going Doug! I’ll be praying for the knees.
    Do you have a link to that talk?

  2. Bob McGowan Says:

    Hang in there Doug. It’s certainly normal to be sore after a long run. Short runs can be more tedious in a way since they’re tough to get psyched up about but they still hurt. Don’t obcess about the next long run. Worrying doesn’t do any good and it’s a waste of energy to get all fired up before your run. Get your rest, eat right and relax. You’ll do OK. Remember, I am weak but He is strong.

  3. tennapel Says:

    Thanks guys. I’ll do my best. The best thing about tomorrow’s run day is that like most of life it’s a big mystery. We’ll all have to stick around to find out what unfolds!


Leave a Reply

