Marathon Journal: 4 Miles Fast

January 27, 2010

I thought I’d lean into my body a little to see if I could get any performance on a short 4 mile run and was pleased. I did 4 miles in just under 40 minutes which is really fast for me.

It’s important to do speed training even though I hate it. Speed works out a muscle in a different way, I don’t know (or care) exactly how, I just know that it feels different. Now I can run long distances pretty well. Point me in a direction and this turtle will chug along until he drops, but don’t ask me to go fast.

So there’s a sense of pride in this morning’s work out. It’s good for my athletic confidence, good for my muscle strength, and good for the coming epic that is the LA Marathon! Remember that if I can run 4 miles in under 10 miles then you can probably do a whole lot of things you told yourself you couldn’t do for most of your life. I don’t want to go all Dr. Phil on you, but the idea that I’m training for a marathon is something that most of my life I didn’t think was possible.

4 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 4 Miles Fast”

  1. Bob McGowan Says:

    Nice job Doug. It’s good to do some speed work in moderation just to get out of your normal pace for a little bit. You can usually feel a bit of runner’s high that you normally don’t get from long, slow distance. One program that I saw suggested you do some quater mile striders the week before the marathon to wake your muscles up a little bit and help them store more glycogen. Just make sure you don’t push it too hard. You’re doing great.

  2. Bob McGowan Says:

    I’ve never done it and I’ve never heard of anyone who has. That doesn’t mean it’s taboo. Some folks take hard candy or jelly beans to get some sugar and break the monotony. We used to eat lots of salt tablets back in the 70’s. They had dispensers of them in Marine barracks and they were always harping on taking your salt pills. The main thing is don’t try anything new the day of the race. Test it out now and see if it helps. I’m guessing you’d need to take enough water too, probably more than your used to.

  3. Bob McGowan Says:

    Doug, I checked on Letsrun.com and the sages say this:http://www.letsrun.com/forum/flat_read.php?board=1&id=3192388&thread=3190937. I didn’t read all thru them. if you can’t follow that link go to Letsrun.com and search salt tablets on the message board. This website is run by Robert and Weldon Johnson, Robert being our older son Ross’ Track Coach at Cornell. Good guys and they know George W. Bush personally. I don’t know how W feels about salt tablets.


Leave a Reply

