Marathon Journal: 4 Miles even faster!

January 29, 2010

I just did 4 miles and shaved a good 30 seconds off my time from day-before-yesterday. It’s easier to hustle a little more across all 4 miles rather than just try to pour it all on at the end.

I feel kinda good because my knees are holding up so far. That’s my big fear. I fear my knees. They can take away the glory of finishing the LA Marathon. I hate when things have power over me. I mean, that I can do my best but something outside of my control like my knee health can keep me from doing something. I resent my knees. If I were a 14 year old the knees would be my father telling me what to do.

The day after tomorrow I’m gonna attempt 16 miles! I try not to think too much about the future because I don’t want to horrify myself about stuff when fear doesn’t help my running. I’ll bet my knees blow out on that 16 miler. I’ll bet I have to quit. STOP IT!

The good news is that I’m finally getting a good foundation of 4 milers under my belt. It’s really hard to train for the long runs without a body of short runs to hold everything up. I’m also reducing my number of four mile runs between long runs on weekends, mostly in an attempt to save my knees. I usually do three shorter 4 mile runs during the week and now I’m only going to do 2 of them. That’s what my Beloved Angie does in her training and she’s about to try 19 miles coming up soon!

I tried listening to a bunch of Kid Cudi songs and they didn’t do the trick. I ended up listening to more Larry Arnn lecturing on the great books of the western world.

5 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 4 Miles even faster!”

  1. Bob McGowan Says:

    OK Doug, you’re doing great but remember your goal is to FINISH the MARATHON, not break the four minute mile. It’s really great that you’re mixing in some speed work in moderation, but don’t go out and try to do a PR every time. Don’t worry about the next long run. Stay loose and get your rest tomorrow. Lots of fluid and carbs. Sometimes I run later in the day on weekends to allow time for a nap and some extra rest.

    • tennapel Says:

      Bob, it’s funny you should mention rest because I usually go to bed by 11pm but tonight I’m going on the radio at midnight, off at 2am, going out for waffles til 4am. I’ll be destroyed tomorrow, so I hope to catch up on sleep Sat. night, skip church Sunday morning and do the run then.

      I need to watch Chariots of Fire again to get my sabbath straightened out.

  2. Bob McGowan Says:

    Or you could go to Church and do the run in the afternoon. I do that sometimes just to get some etra rest. I watched Chariots of Fire a couple of weeks ago for about the tenth time. One of my favorite parts is when Jackson Scholz stuffs a note in Eric Liddel’s hand just before the 400 meter race. “It says in the good book…..”

    • tennapel Says:

      I can’t do the run after church because the guys come over to read Chesterton. We also smoke pipes, over-eat and have beer which would make for a bad run.

  3. Bob McGowan Says:

    I understand. That gives you something to look forward to in those final miles. Have a great run Doug!


Leave a Reply

