Marathon Journal: 10 Miles Slow

February 8, 2010

These were the most pathetic miles I’ve run yet. It was pretty tough since I’m just over a cold and I was running on bad carbs… the 8 million I ate during the Super Bowl yesterday. I skinned my knee and a pizza roll came out.

It’s hard to believe that only last week I could do double this amount, because I could barely eek out this one. Some of it’s mental, some physical, it’s hard to tell where one begins and the other ends. I only got in one 4 mile run this last week and that’s no good. My knees and joints needed an extra long break after the last long run.

I don’t have much of a plan, but I need to get in a few more 4 mile runs before I attempt another long run. Just so you know my schedule has me doing an 18-20 mile run again this Saturday. I can tell you right now that’s not gonna happen.

5 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 10 Miles Slow”

  1. Kathy Fullerton Says:

    Ha. Ha. on the whole pizza roll bit. Let’s just say that “you are on a roll, Doug”. Keep writing. I’m laughing my can off and so is my husband. Am thinking about getting on Twitter because your tweets are so funny. It will be your fault if I start a new bad media habit.

  2. Bob McGowan Says:

    OK Doug, you’ve got six weeks left so if you take a three week taper then you chould squeeze in two more long runs. You’ve already proven that you can do 20 so back off this weekend and do 16. Maybe 10 the next weekend and 18 or 20 for your last long run. Al least you know why this run felt bad. You gutted it out which is the main thing. I’m telling you, it’s very common to feel like crap doing the medium long runs. You have zero adrenalin and you can’t imagine how you could ever run 20 let alone 26. You’ll feel better soon and by this weekend you’ll be back on track.

  3. Damon Says:

    You call that bad? I would call that above adverage since you managed to run more miles than four or five… Wait, you said you bleed pizza roles?!?! Be careful what you say, we don’t want a kid to attack you with a kitchen knife just to see if that actually happen. Anyways, When you recover from running hard and/or sicknesses you have to not wear yourself down. Your body should do fine if you don’t stress about the situation you’re in.


Leave a Reply

