Marathon Journal: 4 miles SICK

February 11, 2010

As you can see, it’s been a while since my last run. I got sick. I’m turning into a sick-magnet in my old age. Perhaps it’s a sign that I’m just a mortal after all, and my time on this earth is coming to a close. If that’s the case, I hope I can finish off one more graphic novel and one LA Marathon before I die of the common cold.

Jogging with phlegm is like running without the use of air, “Look Ma, no lungs!” It’s a tough trick, but I pulled off four miles in just under 41 minutes. That’s really fast for me. So my body is holding up well, and the work outs are sticking to my build though I’m not putting much in.

I took some Nyquil to cut the coughing down as I hit the hay.

We bought our parking spot for Marathon Day. It was 15 bucks. Thank you, Santa Monica.

6 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 4 miles SICK”

  1. Bob McGowan Says:

    Nice job Doug. That’s a great pace under the circumstances. The good news is your knees are OK and you’ve got plenty of time to kick this cold. It’s not old age, it’s the kids. When our boys were little Carroll and I were constantly catching their colds. Glad you got your parking spot. That must be a load off your mind. Don’t kill yourself on the long run this weekend.

  2. lemm Says:

    Aww Doug. You’re not old. Make yourself a hot toddy and don’t over do it and you’ll be well in no time. :)

    • Doug Says:

      Thanks Lemm,
      but I’ve grown to like the hot toddy drink a little too much. It’s the greatest invention in the history of home remedies.

  3. Damon Says:

    NO! No! no! You think that despite your age, you Can’t give up. I know people in their 70’s that STILL have jobs around. As some stated, It those kid that’re passing that bug around in the family. Someone has to teach the kids about sanitation and why its important.

    Sure, you’re human, but so is everyone else….Ok, I’m part beast, but even I have needs. Too bad it raining here on Valentine’s day. (sorry, off topic) Depression hits us all and we all have different ways to coop with it. Me? I love chocolate! But there’s many ways to de-stress…if thats even a word…

    You still have life in you! You just need to keep up with your needs.

  4. L Says:

    Age ain’t nothing but a number, man. If you haven’t been running for a while, then it’s understandable that you might be a bit out of shape. However, you just gotta keep at it to get yourself back in good enough shape for the Marathon. It’s a pain in the neck, but I figure you’re probably persistent enough to pull it off.


Leave a Reply

