Marathon Journal: 10 miles LOSER

February 15, 2010

I was supposed to do 16 miles but couldn’t do it. That’s hard to say because I rarely don’t reach goals I set.

This time around, my lungs are shot from being sick for a week or so. I’m not sure what the deal is but yesterday I coughed up a little blood in the shower. I know, I’m supposed to go to the doctor, but it’s cleared up today and as long as it doesn’t happen again I’m not gonna go until after the Marathon.

I woke up and thought I could only do four miles. I did 10 in about 2 hours. That’s slow, even more me, especially when the last couple of miles I were 15 minute miles.

The good news is that my knees are holding up. They feel kinda knocked around but are holding together better than I thought. I never guessed it would be my lungs that gave me problems since those have always been my super power.

3 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 10 miles LOSER”

  1. Bob McGowan Says:

    I know it feels bad to fall short, but you tried hard. It’s really easy to sketch out a training plan that with luck, perfect weather, health, free time you might be able to accomplish. Reality sets in and then you adapt. I usually crash during at least one long run during training. It will probabaly strengthen your resolve. Remember, you already did 20 so you have that in the bank. You wouldn’t have done yourself any good if you had staggered thru a full 16. Take care of your lungs. Press on.

  2. Damon Says:

    You need to watch yourself. When you get sick like that, Your endurance will be harder to test, especially when you get sick like that. (I hope that SWINE flu isn’t back again!) You did better than the last few day and that’s what matters right now. And a lung transplant is much riskier than having a heart transplant! You need someone to coach your will back up, and I know you have the will to do it!

  3. lemm Says:

    I guess it could just be from your sickness…but please go to the doctor if you get any of these things Doug…(pasted from medical site)

    # A cough that produces more than a few teaspoons of blood
    # Dizziness
    # Light-headedness
    # Severe shortness of breath
    # Chest pain

    * Fever
    * Shortness of breath

    that’s really worrying. ><

    As far as the running is concerned, I think you're doing very well…you're bound to have a set back or two from getting ill.


Leave a Reply

