Marathon Journal: 6 miles

February 27, 2010

I’ve had a rough week. I spent Sunday through Thursday in bed with what I first thought was a hard recovery of the Pasadena fiasco. But each night I woke up soaking wet and I lost my appetite. I checked the news for an Airborne AIDS mutation and found nothing.

By Thursday I was so tired that I went to the urgent care to see a doctor. That’s what we Americans do when we need a check-up, we go to the emergency room. And they didn’t carry my crummy insurance so I happily paid out of pocket. I like to still enjoy my freedom in America before this administration disfigures the healthcare world beyond recognition. I got a round of antibiotics and felt better the next day.

Today I only wanted to feel how my legs were doing, so I didn’t want to go too far. I thought I’d do four miles max, and was able to push it a little and go 6.3 miles. My left knee and foot felt a little prickly, so I knew better than to continue.

I’m also working on my pace, trying to jog at a perfect 12.5 minute mile speed to finish the Marathon in under 5:30. I learned I’m really bad with pace, and I’ve even got a Garmin that gives me a second by second read out of my speed. I would look down and see the Garmin read 10:05 or even a 14:30 mile! My next few runs are going to be dedicated to jog at that 12.5 minute mile pace.

I’ll only be doing another 3 or 4 runs over the next week, maybe 10 miles each then hang up the shoes until the big day.

One Response to “Marathon Journal: 6 miles”

  1. Bob McGowan Says:

    Hi Doug. Glad to see you’re back on the road, sounds like your legs survived last weekend. Sorry about your cold/flu. You’ve really done well in spite of being sick for three weeks. I checked the L.A. Marathon website and they have a bunch of Pace Groups, one of which will do a 12:15 pace. That’s a tad faster than what you want, but they’ll probabaly start out a bit slower. Pace Groups are usually led by a very experienced runner who can easily maintain this pace for 26.2 miles. Good idea to train at a 12:30 pace from now on.


Leave a Reply

