Marathon Journal: 5 Miles it’s mental

March 9, 2010

I did five and was bored. Maybe I’m going through a runner’s depression, but this running without the Eye of the Tiger is lame. It’s weird running with no inspiration, because I turn on my Shuffle which is packed with heart pounding, jaw crushing songs and they suddenly have no impact. They might as well be “Convalescent Home’s Favorite Moog Hits”.

The Marathon is in less than 12 days and I gotta find something to do with my mind to get it plugged into the race. I’m hoping that running with My Beloved will do the trick, and just the general excitement of running with 25,000 snobby, Los Angeles narcissists through the urine-soaked streets of the world’s most shallow-but-broad slab of cement wasteland will be inspiration enough. I don’t know, maybe some guy in a Ron Paul tee shirt will trip and fall right in front of me. That might to the trick.

Now I don’t know how much to run. I don’t really want to risk injury, or burn out. I also hear that for three days I’m supposed to starve all of the carbs out of my body, then pack them back in three days before the race.

4 Responses to “Marathon Journal: 5 Miles it’s mental”

  1. Nathaniel Says:

    Carbo-loading before a race is always a good idea, but I doubt that you should completely starve your body of them before that. Our bodies tend to freak out when we make drastic changes to our diets, and yours is going to be freaking out enough before the race as it is. If you haven’t already experimented with tapering your carb intake earlier in your training to know what it feels like then I’d suggest waiting until your next marathon to do so.

    By the way, I’m a huge fan of Creature Tech. I love your artwork. :)

  2. Bob McGowan Says:

    I agree with Nathaniel, carb starving will drain you of any energy and will probably have a more negative effect on your state of mind vs a very iffy positive effect on your carbo loading later. Start carbo loading THURSDAY night vs waiting until the proverbial pasta dinner Saturday evening. Check out Hal Higdon’s website for training suggestions for these last few days. Look at “novice 3”. It’s absolutly normal to feel sluggish right now. Don’t worry, you’ll be all jacked up for the big day.

  3. Nathaniel Says:

    I’m going to have to check out that website myself. I’ve been running cross country and road races competitively for years but my first marathon will be in October. It should be interesting – I’ve needed a change in my direction as a runner and hopefully this will change things up for me.

  4. tennapel Says:

    Good luck, Nathaniel!


Leave a Reply

