Inktoberfest Day 3a

October 3, 2013

Inktoberfest Day 3a

Pentel brushpen Ink on photocopy paper

2 Responses to “Inktoberfest Day 3a”

  1. Dave Says:

    Hi Doug, I found your blog because my son brought home Nnewts volume 1 from the library. I usually try to read his books first, as I want him to read good stuff. I am also a Christian. I liked the book, and noticed some Christian symbolism too. I read through some of your blog, and really enjoyed your post on Tolkien as a Catholic. Anyway, I was kind of surprised by this drawing, and another that could be described as “pinup art”. Not a big deal for me, but could be very tempting to a 12 year old boy. Am I off-base here, is there more to this art? Please let me know why you draw it, and how you feel about it. Thanks and God Bless.

    • tennapel Says:

      It’s a fair comment, I do from time to time draw pin up art and I realize that it may not be appropriate for all audiences. It may not even be appropriate for any audience! In general, I don’t draw in fear of offending someone, because so many different cultures view my work that it will no doubt offend some culture somewhere. I don’t mean to offend or expose people to what they don’t want to see in the woman’s form. But I do defend the woman’s form as beautiful, even if it isn’t shown in public. This drawing was a tribute to a woman’s beauty in general.


Leave a Reply

